Miami Book Fair 2020 Authors - R

Stream your favorite authors at home, beginning November 15th.


 

Searching for Zion Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780802122278
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Grove Press - February 11th, 2014

"A brilliant illustration of the ways in which race is an artificial construct that, like beauty, is often a matter of perspective."--The Wall Street Journal


Excellence Volume 1 Cover Image
By Brandon Thomas, Khary Randolph (Artist), Emilio Lopez (Artist)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781534313620
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Image Comics - November 19th, 2019

Spencer Dales was born into a world of magic. His father belongs to the Aegis, a secret society of black magicians ordered by their unseen masters to better the lives of others-of higher potential-but never themselves.


Just Us: An American Conversation Cover Image
$30.00
ISBN: 9781644450215
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Graywolf Press - September 8th, 2020

Claudia Rankine’s Citizen changed the conversation—Just Us urges all of us into it


The Black Kids Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781534462724
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - August 4th, 2020

A New York Times bestseller

“Should be required reading in every classroom.” —Nic Stone, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dear Martin
“A true love letter to Los Angeles.” —Brandy Colbert, award-winning author of Little & Lion
“A brilliantly poetic take on one of the most defining moments in Black


The Man Who Sold America: Trump and the Unraveling of the American Story Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062880116
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - August 11th, 2020

THE NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

MSNBC'S Joy-Ann Reid calculates the true price of the Trump presidency, now updated with a new afterword on the events of 2020.


Big Black: Stand at Attica Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781684154791
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Archaia - February 18th, 2020

A graphic novel memoir from Frank “Big Black” Smith, a prisoner at Attica State Prison in 1971, whose rebellion against the injustices of the prison system remains one of the bloodiest civil rights confrontations in American history.

FOUR DAYS IN 1971 CHANGED THE COURSE OF AMERICAN HISTORY.


Early Departures Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062748409
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Katherine Tegen Books - September 22nd, 2020

Justin A. Reynolds, author of Opposite of Always, returns with another charming and powerful YA contemporary novel with a speculative twist, perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon, Becky Albertalli, and Adam Silvera.

What if you could bring your best friend back to life—but only for a short time?


Woke: A Young Poet's Call to Justice Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250311207
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Roaring Brook Press - March 10th, 2020

"This collection of poems by women of color covers topics relating to social justice, activism, discrimination and empathy, focusing on the need to speak out and inspiring middle-graders." -Vogue

Woke: A Young Poet's Guide to Justice
is a collection of poems to inspire kids to stay woke and become a new generation of activists.


A Sinking Ship Is Still a Ship: Poems Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781941681626
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Burrow Press - April 21st, 2020

Never Look Back Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547603732
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Bloomsbury YA - September 15th, 2020

"Expertly blends reality and fantasy to explore what's behind love and loss, what it takes to heal." - Randy Ribay, author of National Book Award finalist Patron Saints of Nothing

Acclaimed author Lilliam Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love.


Lo Terciario / The Tertiary (2nd Edition) Cover Image
$21.00
ISBN: 9781934819821
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Noemi Press - August 1st, 2019

Poetry. LGBTQIA Studies. Written in response to the PROMESA bill (Puerto Rico Oversight, Management, and Economic Stability Act) Bill, LO TERCIARIO / THE TERTIARY offers a decolonial queer critique and reconsideration of Marx. The book's title comes from Pedro Scaron's, El Capital, the 1976 translation of Karl Marx's classic.


Pre-Order Now Badge
b.b. free Cover Image
By Gabby Rivera, Royal Dunlap (Illustrator)
$14.99
ISBN: 9781684155309
Availability: *PRE-ORDER* SEE PUBLISHING DATE BELOW UNDER "PRODUCT DETAILS"
Published: BOOM! Box - January 4th, 2022

Writer Gabby Rivera and debuting artist Royal Dunlap present a new adventure series for anyone who’s ever fought to discover the truth about yourself even when it feels like the whole world is against you.

THERE’S NOTHING ORDINARY ABOUT B.B.


Tossed to the Wind: Stories of Hurricane Maria Survivors Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781683401506
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: University of Florida Press - April 7th, 2020

After the storm, a community comes together Framed by the stories of Hurricane Maria evacuees, Tossed to the Wind is the gripping account of the wreckage, despair, and displacement left in the wake of one of the deadliest natural disasters on U.S. soil. It is also a story of hope and endurance as Puerto Ricans on the island shared what little they had and the diaspora in Florida offered refuge.


Words Whispered in Water: Why the Levees Broke in Hurricane Katrina Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9781642503272
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Mango Media Inc - August 11th, 2020

The New Orleans Flood, U.S. Corruption, and Disasters

"Anyone who is interested in Hurricane Katrina, and in America's failing infrastructure, will want to read this book told in a fast-paced narrative." --Scott G. Knowles, Drexel University professor and author


Sadness Is a White Bird: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781501176272
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Washington Square Press - February 12th, 2019

**A 2019 Dayton Literary Peace Prize Finalist**
**A 2018 National Jewish Book Award Finalist for Debut Fiction**

In this “nuanced, sharp, and beautifully written” (Michael Chabon) debut novel, a young man prepares to serve in the Israeli army while also trying to reconcile his close relationship to two Palestinian siblings with his deeply ingrained l


Disney Princess Royally Fierce Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781368049153
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Disney Editions - April 7th, 2020

A fun, sassy gift book filled with feminist inspiration for girls, teens, and women who love the Disney Princesses.



In the Land of Good Living: A Journey to the Heart of Florida Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525521389
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Knopf - July 7th, 2020

A wickedly smart, funny, and irresistibly off-kilter account of an improbable thousand-mile journey on foot into the heart of modern Florida, the state that Russell calls "America Concentrate."