Miami Book Fair 2020 Authors - P

Stream your favorite authors at home, beginning November 15th.


 

Tossed to the Wind: Stories of Hurricane Maria Survivors Cover Image
$24.95
ISBN: 9781683401506
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: University of Florida Press - April 7th, 2020

After the storm, a community comes together Framed by the stories of Hurricane Maria evacuees, Tossed to the Wind is the gripping account of the wreckage, despair, and displacement left in the wake of one of the deadliest natural disasters on U.S. soil. It is also a story of hope and endurance as Puerto Ricans on the island shared what little they had and the diaspora in Florida offered refuge.


Mera: Tidebreaker Cover Image
By Danielle Paige, Stephen Byrne (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9781401283391
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: DC Ink - April 2nd, 2019

Princess Mera is teenage royalty and heir to the throne of Xebel, a penal colony ruled by the other no-so-lost land under the sea, Atlantis. Her father, his court and the entire kingdom are expecting her to marry and introduce a new king. But Mera is destined to wear a different crown....


The Invention of Sound Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781538718001
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Grand Central Publishing - September 8th, 2020

A father searching for his missing daughter is suddenly given hope when a major clue is discovered, but learning the truth could shatter the seemingly perfect image Hollywood is desperate to uphold.


Year of the Dog (American Poets Continuum #178) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781950774012
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: BOA Editions - April 14th, 2020

A Blessing the Boats Selection
One of Big Other's "Most Anticipated Small Press Books of 2020"
On The Rumpus's list of "What To Read When 2020 Is Just Around the Corner"

In the tradition of women as the unsung keepers of history, Deborah Paredez's second poetry collection tells her story as a Latina daughter of the Vietnam War.


The Dutch House: A Novel Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062963673
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Harper - September 24th, 2019

Finalist for the Pulitzer Prize


How to Raise a Reader Cover Image
By Pamela Paul, Maria Russo, Dan Yaccarino (Illustrator), Lisk Feng (Illustrator), Vera Brosgol (Illustrator), Monica Garwood (Illustrator)
$19.95
ISBN: 9781523505302
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Workman Publishing Company - September 3rd, 2019

An indispensable guide to welcoming children—from babies to teens—to a lifelong love of reading, written by Pamela Paul and Maria Russo, editors of The New York Times Book Review.
 
Do you remember your first visit to where the wild things are? How about curling up for hours on end to discover the secret of the Sorcerer’s Stone?


The Dead Are Arising: The Life of Malcolm X Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781631491665
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Liveright - October 20th, 2020

WINNER — 2020 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FOR NONFICTION • TIME Magazine — 10 Best Nonfiction Books of 2020 • A New York Times Notable Book of 2020 and Editors' Choice Selection • Washington Post — 50 Notable Works of Nonfiction in 2020 •  Excerpted in The New Yorker • Longlisted — Andrew Carnegie Medal for Excellence in Nonfiction • Best Books of 2020 — Chicago Publ


The Writer's Library: The Authors You Love on the Books That Changed Their Lives Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9780062968500
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: HarperOne - September 8th, 2020

NEW & NOTEWORTHY ~ THE NEW YORK TIMES 


Suicide Woods: Stories Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781644450062
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Graywolf Press - October 15th, 2019

A spine-tingling new collection of stories from the acclaimed author of Thrill Me and The Dark Net


In the Study with the Wrench: A Clue Mystery, Book Two Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781419739767
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Harry N. Abrams - October 13th, 2020

Charming as a Verb Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062824141
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 13th, 2020

From the award-winning author of The Field Guide to the North American Teenager comes a whip-smart and layered romantic comedy. Perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Jenny Han. 


Disappearing Earth: A novel Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780525520412
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Knopf - May 14th, 2019

One of The New York Times 10 Best Books of the Year

National Book Award Finalist
Finalist for the National Book Critics Circle John Leonard Prize
Finalist for the Center for Fiction First Novel Prize


$11.50
SKU: 9789766381660s

The Last Thing You Surrender: A Novel of World War II Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781572842458
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Agate Bolden - February 5th, 2019

Could you find the courage to do what's right in a world on fire?

Pulitzer-winning journalist and bestselling novelist (Freeman) Leonard Pitts, Jr.'s new historical page-turner is a great American tale of race and war, following three characters from the Jim Crow South as they face the enormous changes World War II triggers in the United States.


City Spies Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781534414914
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Aladdin - March 10th, 2020

A New York Times bestseller!
A GMA3 Summer Reading Squad Selection!
“Ingeniously plotted, and a grin-inducing delight.” —People
“Will keep young readers glued to the page…So when do I get the sequel?” —Beth McMullen, author of Mrs.


American Poison: How Racial Hostility Destroyed Our Promise Cover Image
$26.95
ISBN: 9780451494887
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Knopf - March 17th, 2020

A sweeping examination of how American racism has broken the country's social compact, eroded America's common goods, and damaged the lives of every American--and a heartfelt look at how these deep wounds might begin to heal.


Pharma: Greed, Lies, and the Poisoning of America Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781501151897
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Avid Reader Press / Simon & Schuster - March 10th, 2020

BEST BOOKS OF MARCH - APPLE BOOKS
TOP TEN PICKS FOR MARCH BOOKS - CHRISTIAN SCIENCE MONITOR
BEST TRUE CRIME PICKS IN MARCH - CRIMEREADS
MOST ANTICIPATED BOOKS OF 2020 - LITHUB

Award-winning journalist and New York Times bestselling author Gerald Posner traces the heroes and villains of the trillion-dollar-a-year pharmac


Natalie Portman's Fables Cover Image
By Natalie Portman, Janna Mattia (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781250246868
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Feiwel & Friends - October 20th, 2020

Academy Award-winning actress, director, producer, and activist Natalie Portman retells three classic fables and imbues them with wit and wisdom.


Horsepower: Poems (Pitt Poetry Series) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780822966197
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: University of Pittsburgh Press - September 22nd, 2020

Priest’s debut collection, Horsepower, is a cinematic escape narrative that radically envisions a daughter’s waywardness as aspirational.


From Ball Girl to CMO Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781948145848
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Mynd Matters Publishing - September 14th, 2020

Even though Melissa M. Proctor never played basketball, her dream as a child was to be the first female coach in the NBA. Your heart will sink and soar as you live through Melissa's trials and triumphs.