Miami Book Fair 2020 Authors - B

Stream your favorite authors at home, beginning November 15th.


 

Kent State: Four Dead in Ohio Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781419734847
Availability: NOT IN STOCK,,, but we can attempt to get it
Published: Abrams ComicArts - September 8th, 2020

From Derf Backderf, the bestselling author of My Friend Dahmer, comes the tragic and unforgettable story of the Kent State shootings​
 
On May 4, 1970, the Ohio National Guard gunned down unarmed college students protesting the Vietnam War at Kent State University. In a deadly barrage of 67 shots, 4 students were killed and 9 shot and wounded.


The Man Who Ran Washington: The Life and Times of James A. Baker III Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9780385540551
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Doubleday - September 29th, 2020

Named a BEST BOOK OF THE YEAR by The New York Times and The Washington Post

From two of America's most revered political journalists comes the definitive biography of legendary White House chief of staff and secretary of state James A. Baker III: the man who ran Washington when Washington ran the world.


Tampa Bay Noir (Akashic Noir) Cover Image
By Colette Bancroft (Editor), Ace Atkins (Contribution by), Karen Brown (Contribution by)
$16.95
ISBN: 9781617758102
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Akashic Books - August 4th, 2020

Tampa Bay joins Miami in representing the (alleged) Sunshine State in the Noir Series arena.


Snow Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781335230003
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Hanover Square Press - October 6th, 2020

Give the gift of reading this holiday season

*NATIONAL BESTSELLER*

A New York Times Editors' Choice Pick


We Are Called to Be a Movement Cover Image
$8.95
ISBN: 9781523511242
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Workman Publishing Company - June 9th, 2020

It's time for everyone who cares about the state of our nation to heed the call and join forces to redeem the soul of America.

It's time to come together and renounce the politics of rejection, division, and greed.


The Inheritance Games Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781368052405
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Don't miss this New York Times bestselling "impossible to put down" (Buzzfeed) novel with deadly stakes, thrilling twists, and juicy secrets--perfect for fans of One of Us is Lying and Knives Out.


How to Be a Pirate Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781681197784
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Bloomsbury Children's Books - March 3rd, 2020

A National Bestseller!

"A beautiful, generous, fun collaboration of story and illustration and pirate tattoos. Seriously wise pirate advice for everyone." - Jon Scieszka, National Ambassador for Young People’s Literature


Making Good Time: True Stories of How We Do, and Don't, Get Around in South Florida Cover Image
$24.00
ISBN: 9781940806136
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Jai-Alai Books - September 21st, 2019

31 true transit stories by 32 award-winning South Florida writers Release Date: September 21, 2019 “If you’ve ever tried to get from one place to another in South Florida, you will love this book.” - T.D. Allman, author of Miami: City of the Future “Hold on to your roof mattresses: Making Good Time is a loving, alarming, definitive collection of only-in-Miami road tales.


Lessons From Lucy: The Simple Joys of an Old, Happy Dog Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501161162
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Simon & Schuster - November 3rd, 2020

In this “little gem” (Washington Independent Review of Books), Pulitzer Prize–winning columnist and New York Times bestselling author Dave Barry learns how to age happily from his old but joyful dog, Lucy.


Cinderella Is Dead Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781547603879
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Bloomsbury YA - July 7th, 2020

"Wholly original and captivating." - Brigid Kemmerer, New York Times bestselling author of A Curse So Dark and Lonely

Girls team up to overthrow the kingdom in this unique and powerful retelling of Cinderella from a stunning new voice that’s perfect for fans of Dhonielle Clayton and Melissa Albert.


Don't Kill the Birthday Girl: Tales from an Allergic Life Cover Image
For price, please email Orders@booksandbooks.com
ISBN: 9780307588128
Availability: NONE / NOT IN STOCK
Published: Crown - April 3rd, 2012

A beautifully written and darkly funny journey through the world of the allergic.
 


The Body Wars: Poems (Pitt Poetry Series) Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9780822966241
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: University of Pittsburgh Press - September 22nd, 2020

What would it take to be home in one’s body, to walk around the world as oneself, knowing the pain within and without us? Jan Beatty boldly answers that question by making a fire map of the body. These roiling poems smack into walls of meditation, only to slide down the smooth concrete into the flatline of joy.


The Index of Self-Destructive Acts Cover Image
$27.95
ISBN: 9781947793828
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Tin House Books - May 5th, 2020

LONGLISTED FOR THE 2020 NATIONAL BOOK AWARD

A KIRKUS BEST BOOK OF 2020

“A significant novel, beautifully crafted and deeply felt. Beha creates a high bonfire of our era's vanities. . . . This is a novel to savor.” —Colum McCann


Letters from Cuba Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780525516477
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Nancy Paulsen Books - August 25th, 2020

Pura Belpré Award Winner Ruth Behar's inspiring story of a young Jewish girl who escapes Poland to make a new life in Cuba, while she works to rescue the rest of her family


True Prep: It's a Whole New Old World Cover Image
For price, please email Orders@booksandbooks.com
ISBN: 9780375712012
Availability: NONE / NOT IN STOCK
Published: Knopf - November 1st, 2011

Now in paperback from Lisa Birnbach, the author of The Official Preppy Handbook, comes True Prep, which looks at how the old guard of natural-fiber-loving, dog-worshipping, G&T-soaked preppies adapts to the new order of the Internet, cell phones, rehab, political correctness, reality TV, and . . . polar fleece.


Grabbed: Poets & Writers on Sexual Assault, Empowerment & Healing (Afterword by Anita Hill) Cover Image
By Richard Blanco (Editor), Caridad Moro (Editor), Nikki Moustaki (Editor), Elisa Albo (Editor), Joyce Maynard (Foreword by)
$15.00
ISBN: 9780807071847
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Beacon Press - October 6th, 2020

A gender-inclusive anthology of poetry and prose that addresses the physical and psychological act of being “grabbed,” or in any way assaulted.


Fantasia for the Man in Blue (Stahlecker Selections) Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781945588495
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Four Way Books - March 2nd, 2020

In his debut collection Fantasia for the Man in Blue, Tommye Blount orchestrates a chorus of distinct, unforgettable voices that speak to the experience of the black, queer body as a site of desire and violence. A black man’s late-night encounter with a police officer—the titular “man in blue”—becomes an extended meditation on a dangerous erotic fantasy.


Are You There God? It's Me, Margaret.: Special Edition Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781534482425
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Atheneum Books for Young Readers - September 15th, 2020

Celebrate the legacy of the bestselling and iconic Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret with this special edition, featuring a deluxe faux-leather embossed cover that looks and feels as vibrant as the story within.

Margaret Simon, almost twelve, likes long hair, tuna fish, the smell of rain, and things that are pink.


Only What's Necessary 70th Anniversary Edition: Charles M. Schulz and the Art of Peanuts Cover Image
By Chip Kidd, Geoff Spear (By (photographer))
$29.99
ISBN: 9781419746895
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Harry N. Abrams - September 1st, 2020

Straight On Till Morning: A Twisted Tale Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781484781302
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Disney-Hyperion - February 4th, 2020

What if Wendy first traveled to Never Land . . . with Captain Hook?


Superman's Not Coming: Our National Water Crisis and What We the People Can Do About It Cover Image
$28.95
ISBN: 9781524746964
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Pantheon - August 25th, 2020

From environmental activist, renowned crusader, champion fighter, maverick—a book that looks at our present situation with water and shows us how we can each take action to make changes in our cities, towns, and villages, before it is too late.


The Phantom Twin Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781626729247
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: First Second - March 3rd, 2020

A young woman is haunted by the ghost of her conjoined twin, in Lisa Brown's The Phantom Twin, a sweetly spooky graphic novel set in a turn-of-the-century sideshow.

Isabel and Jane are the Extraordinary Peabody Sisters, conjoined twins in a traveling carnival freak show—until an ambitious surgeon tries to separate them and fails, causing Jane's death.


Woke: A Young Poet's Call to Justice Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250311207
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Roaring Brook Press - March 10th, 2020

"This collection of poems by women of color covers topics relating to social justice, activism, discrimination and empathy, focusing on the need to speak out and inspiring middle-graders." -Vogue

Woke: A Young Poet's Guide to Justice
is a collection of poems to inspire kids to stay woke and become a new generation of activists.


Cruel Summer Cover Image
By Ed Brubaker, Sean Phillips (Artist), Jacob Phillips (Artist)
$34.99
ISBN: 9781534316430
Availability: Here in Miami
Published: Image Comics - August 18th, 2020

BRUBAKER & PHILLIPS' CRIMINAL epic, collected in a gorgeous hardback edition.

In the summer of '88, Teeg Lawless comes home to plan the biggest heist of his career. But Teeg's son Ricky and his friends are starting down the same dark path their fathers are on, and this is about to become the worst summer of their lives.


We Served the People: My Mother's Stories Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781684155040
Availability: AVAILABLE TO ORDER (Please allow 10-14 days for store pickup)
Published: Archaia - April 28th, 2020

A collection of moving stories passed from mother to daughter recounting life during China’s Cultural Revolution.

In China, an entire generation’s most formative years took place in remote rural areas when city-kids were sent to the countryside to become rusticated youth and partake in Mao’s mandated Great Leap Forward.

Debut cartoonist Emei Burell breathes new lif