Out of the Drowning Deep (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Out of the Drowning Deep By A. C. Wise Cover Image
$19.99
PRE-ORDER NOW!

Description


In the distant future, when mortals mingle with the gods in deep space, an out-of-date automaton, a recovering addict, and an angel race to solve the Pope’s murder in an abandoned corner of the galaxy.

Dreamy, beautifully written queer science-fantasy novella, for fans of Becky Chambers and This is How You Lose the Time War.


Scribe IV is an obsolete automaton living on the Bastion, a secluded monastery in an abandoned corner of the galaxy. When the visiting Pope is found murdered, Scribe IV knows he has very little time before the terrifying Sisters of the Drowned Deep rise up to punish all the Bastion’s residents for their supposed crime.

Quin, a recovering drug addict turned private investigator, agrees to take the case. Traumatized by a
bizarre experience in his childhood, Quin repeatedly feeds his memories to his lover, the angel Murmuration. But fragmented glimpses of an otherworldly horror he calls the crawling dark continue to haunt his dreams.

Meanwhile in heaven, an angel named Angel hears Scribe IV’s prayer. Intrigued by the idea of solving a crime with mortals, xe descends to offer xyr divine assistance.

With the Drowned Sisters closing in, Scribe IV, Quin, and Angel race to find out who really murdered the Pope, and why. Quin’s missing memories may hold the key to the case – but is remembering worth what it will cost him?

About the Author


A.C. Wise is the author of Hooked and the bestselling Wendy, Darling. She also has two short story collections published by Lethe Press, Catfish Lullaby, a novella published by Broken Eye Books (2019), and The Ghost Sequences, a short story collection published by Undertow Books (2021), which was shortlisted for a 2021 Bram Stoker Award. 

Her work has won the Sunburst Award for Excellence in Canadian Literature of the Fantastic, as well as twice being a finalist for the Nebula Award, twice being a finalist for the Sunburst Award, and being a finalist for the Lambda Literary Awards. In addition to her fiction, she contributes semi-regular review columns to The Book Smugglers and Apex Magazine. Originally from Canada, she now lives in Pennsylvania, US. 

She tweets at @ac_wise.

Praise For…


"A unique vision. Automatons, angels, and cosmic horror nuns are only the beginning of a murder mystery wondrously orbited by metaphysical sci-fi as only A.C. Wise can weave together. Out of the Drowning Deep introduces a universe of the undefinable fantastic, gifted by one of our finest imaginations." Hailey Piper, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of A Light Most Hateful


"A strange and singular book. Wise has crafted a story quite unlike any other and it blew my mind. One of the best books I've read in a long time." Tendai Huchu


"Out of the Drowning Deep is an evocative mystery set in a richly imagined world, populated by a diverse cast of instantly intriguing characters. I loved every word of this gorgeous novella." Emmi Itaranta, author of The Moonday Letters






Praise for Hooked


"Hooked is an absolutely breathtaking accomplishment, and further proof that A.C. Wise is one of the most vital voices in fiction today. Her lush, beautiful prose draws you in and never lets you go... Be sure to put Hooked at the top of your reading list."  Gwendolyn Kiste, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of The Rust Maidens and Reluctant Immortals


"Hooked will effortlessly pull readers back into Wise's dark, seductive, and mesmerizing version of Neverland – and into the equally compelling inner world of her characters. A beautifully written and psychologically astute sequel." Leah Cypess, author of Thornwood and Glass Slippers


"Fans of creepy updated fairy tales... should snap this up." 
Publishers Weekly 


Praise for Wendy, Darling


"Feminist twists and creeping dread abound in this intriguing retelling of Peter Pan" Library Journal


"Intelligent and deftly executed" TOR.com


“This book hooked me immediately with Wendy’s voice and rage and longing... what Wise does with the Peter Pan mythos here is nothing short of astonishing” Sam J. Miller, Nebula Award-winning author of Blackfish City


“Wendy, Darling is a daring, gothic re-envisioning of everything we think we know – and an important, vivid adventure” Fran Wilde, two-time Nebula award-winning, World Fantasy finalist author of Updraft


"Richly imagined, surprisingly dark, and heartbreakingly beautiful" Marian Womack, author of The Swimmers


"A dark and delightful retelling of Peter Pan. Wendy, Darling is a gorgeous achievement, and one you don't want to miss." Gwendolyn Kiste, Bram Stoker Award-winning author of The Rust Maidens and Boneset & Feathers


Product Details
ISBN: 9781803369822
ISBN-10: 1803369825
Publisher: Titan Books
Publication Date: September 3rd, 2024
Pages: 176
Language: English