The Wondercurrent (Paperback)

The Wondercurrent Cover Image
WE CAN ORDER THIS FOR YOU (store pickup in 5-14 days)
(This book cannot be returned.)


In a distant but recognizable future, where interdimensional travel and dream travel intersect, a young girl from Earth One, Rella Deveraux-Pensword, is called upon to protect and defend Hleo: a very special, enchanted refuge for children who need protection and healing. In order to help defend Hleo, Rella must stop Archimago (the shape-shifting story thief) and his menacing miscreations, The Shadowsplitters, from destroying The Wondercurrent: the source of life and hope for all who remain under Hleo's protection.

When Rella's own parents (who are part of a secret alliance of Storykeepers) go missing, she is forced to flee her home. As she flees, she is mysteriously transported to Hleo, where she finds a magic scroll and a secret message with a mission specifically meant for her. To fulfill her mission, Rella teams up with a fellowship of four other children (Eurie, Quinn, Scarlett and Sebastian) and an assortment of wild and whimsical animals, including Thalas (a giant, strong-willed hawk with metallic feathers), Alister (a sleepy, sleepy bear who resides halfway in and out of trees), and Menagerie (a chameleon-tiger with a sacred family lineage).

Will Rella be able to help save Hleo? Will she ever see her parents again? Will the guardians and the children be able to save The Wondercurrent?

If you like SURPRISE ENDINGS that make you want to CRY and SCREAM FOR JOY at the same time, you'll love this book And you'll want to read it over and over.

THE WONDERCURRENT, a family-friendly fantasy, is the first book in the Rella PenSword and The Red Notebooks series. Dive in and awaken your sense of wonder

Fans of Funke's Inkheart series, C.S. Lewis's Narnia books, Philip Pullman's The Golden Compass, The Wizard of OZ, Lois Lowry's The Giver, Michael Ende's The Neverending Story, and Dragt's Letter for the King, and middle grade fiction of all types will truly enjoy this story and the world itself.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781734174656
ISBN-10: 173417465X
Publisher: Plucky Unicorn
Publication Date: November 26th, 2019
Pages: 312
Language: English