The First Week of School (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
The First Week of School By Drew Beckmeyer, Drew Beckmeyer (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Drew Beckmeyer, Drew Beckmeyer (Illustrator)
$18.99
PRE-ORDER NOW!

Description


Follow along as an ensemble cast of characters experience an extraordinary first week of school in this hilarious picture book that’s perfect for fans of Jon Klassen and Lucy Ruth Cummins!

It’s the first day of school. An artist wonders if her drawings are good enough to show. An inventor is excited for show and tell. A group of competitive friends call themselves the Sport Kings (but nobody else does). Pat, the class pet, listens to the weird sounds humans make. The teacher is ready to start.

When the new student gets to class, things take a turn for the unusual. There’s something a little strange about the visitor—maybe even something out-of-this-world.

About the Author


Drew Beckmeyer is an author-illustrator and schoolteacher based in Los Angeles who definitely and absolutely never gets upset or has a hard time admitting something is wrong. Never ever. He is the author-illustrator of I Am a TornadoThe First Week of School, and The Long Island, which was longlisted for the Klaus Flugge Prize, and the illustrator of Dear Wild Child. Visit him online at DrewBeckmeyer.com.

Drew Beckmeyer is an author-illustrator and schoolteacher based in Los Angeles who definitely and absolutely never gets upset or has a hard time admitting something is wrong. Never ever. He is the author-illustrator of I Am a TornadoThe First Week of School, and The Long Island, which was longlisted for the Klaus Flugge Prize, and the illustrator of Dear Wild Child. Visit him online at DrewBeckmeyer.com.

Praise For…


JLG Gold Standard Selection

★ "The pictures have tremendous crayon-colored kid appeal, and the text is clever and funny. Observant readers will find many delicious surprises, and the twist at the end is a genuine delight. An inspired and strikingly original riff on the back-to-school experience."
Kirkus Reviews, STARRED REVIEW


Product Details
ISBN: 9781665940429
ISBN-10: 1665940425
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 25th, 2024
Pages: 48
Language: English