A Fugal Overture, Op. 40, No. 1: Conductor Score (Paperback)

A Fugal Overture, Op. 40, No. 1: Conductor Score By Gustav Holst (Composer) Cover Image
By Gustav Holst (Composer)
Ask a Bookseller about this title


Gustav Holst (1874-1934) began composition of A Fugal Overture in 1922, completing the full score in January 1923. Despite its name, the overture is not strictly fugal. It belongs to the era of neo-classicism, but apparently by coincidence, for Holst had not yet heard some of the Stravinsky and Hindemith works which set this fashion. The fugal subject is full of spiky cross-rhythms. Holst grouped the eighth notes of his 4/4 into a pattern of 3 + 3 + 2, thus giving a bar of three unequal beats, creating an intense and exciting work. This piece premiered on May 14th, 1923 in London by the British National Opera Company, Eugene Goossens conducting. 2+1.2+1.2+Bcl.2+1: Timp.Perc(2): Str (9-8-7-6-5 in set). This work may also be performed with Piccolo, 1 Flute, 1 Oboe, English Horn, 2 Clarinets, 2 Bassoons, 2 Horns, 2 Trumpets, 2 Trombones (I and III), and strings.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781638874928
ISBN-10: 1638874921
Publisher: Alfred Music
Publication Date: August 1st, 2022
Pages: 999
Language: English