The Darkness That Comes Before: The Prince of Nothing, Book One (Paperback)

The Darkness That Comes Before: The Prince of Nothing, Book One By R. Scott Bakker Cover Image
Available to SHIP now; STORE PICKUP in 7-10 days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Prince of Nothing series.


The Darkness That Comes Before is the first book in R. Scott Bakker’s epic fantasy trilogy The Prince of Nothing. Set in a world scarred by an apocalyptic past, four people are swept up in the launch of an imminent crusade, during which they are ensnared by mysterious traveler Anasûrimbor Kellhus, whose magical, philosophical, and military talents have origins in a distant time.

“[An] impressive, challenging debut . . . [the book’s] willingness to take chances and avoid the usual genre clichés should win many discriminating readers.” —Publishers Weekly

About the Author

R. Scott Bakker is a student of literature, history, philosophy, and ancient languages. His books include the Prince of Nothing trilogy: The Darkness that Comes Before, The Warrior Prophet, and The Thousandfold Thought. The Aspect-Emperor series is a sequel series that includes The Judging Eye, The White-Luck Warrior, The Great Ordeal, and The Unholy Consult. He lives in London, Ontario.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781590201183
ISBN-10: 1590201183
Publisher: The Overlook Press
Publication Date: September 2nd, 2008
Pages: 608
Language: English
Series: Prince of Nothing