When I Was Yours (Paperback)

When I Was Yours Cover Image
$12.99
Email or call for price.

Description


An emotional and unforgettable historical novel, perfect for fans of Natasha Lester and Lisa Wingate.
We stand in the back of the hall as the children troop in. Big ones, little ones. Straggly hair, cropped hair, curls... the adults surge forward to choose and soon there is just one child left, a little girl sitting on the floor. She is thin as a string bean and her sleeve is ragged and damp - like she's been chewing it.
1939: War has broken out -- hundreds of children are evacuated to the countryside to keep them safe from the bombs raining down on the cities. Wrenched from her family in the East End and sent more than a hundred miles away, seven-year-old Pearl Posner must adapt to a new life away from everything familiar.
Vivienne didn't ask for an evacuee child. In fact, she's not sure her heart can take it. So many years, so many disappointments . . . Vivi's ability to feel love left her the day she learned the truth about her husband, Edmund, and when she made the worst decision of her life and left her cherished sister to her fate. But like it or not, Pearl is here to stay, and with the rumors about what's happening to children in mainland Europe, it might be the last safe place for her.
As Pearl and Vivi learn how to live together, they discover that they have a connection that runs more deeply than they could ever have guessed -- from before Pearl was born and deep into Vivienne's past. And will it be Pearl -- the little girl who says so little and sees so much -- who forces Vivi to finally confront what happened in her marriage . . . and to the long-lost sister she loved so dearly and let fall so far?
Includes a book club guide.

About the Author


Lizzie Page lives in a seaside town in Essex, England where she grew up. After studying politics at University, she worked as an English teacher, first in Paris and then in Tokyo, for five years.
Back in England, she tried and failed various jobs, before enjoying studying a masters in creative writing at Goldsmiths College. Lizzie loves reading historical and modern fiction, watching films, and travelling. Her husband Steve, three lovely children, and Lenny the cockapoo all conspire to stop her writing!


Product Details
ISBN: 9781538703038
ISBN-10: 1538703033
Publisher: Forever
Publication Date: December 1st, 2020
Pages: 368
Language: English