The Coming Storm (Hardcover)

The Coming Storm Cover Image
$18.99
WE CAN ORDER THIS FOR YOU (store pickup in 5-14 days)

Description


Music, myth, and horror blend in this romantic, “eerie…atmospheric” (Publishers Weekly) fantasy debut about a teen girl who must fight a powerful evil that’s invaded her Prince Edward Island home—perfect for fans of An Enchantment of Ravens.

There’s a certain wild magic in the salt air and the thrum of the sea. Beet MacNeill has known this all her life. It added spice to her childhood adventures with her older cousin, Gerry, the two of them thick as thieves as they explored their Prince Edward Island home. So when Gerry comes up the path one early spring morning, Beet thinks nothing of it at first. But he is soaking wet and silent, and he plays a haunting tune on his fiddle that chills Beet to the bone. Something is very, very wrong.

Things only get worse when Marina Shaw saunters into town and takes an unsettling interest in Gerry’s new baby. Local lore is filled with tales of a vicious shape-shifting sea creature and the cold, beautiful woman who controls him—a woman who bears a striking resemblance to Marina. Beet is determined to find out what happened to her beloved cousin, and to prevent the same fate from befalling the handsome new boy in town who is winning her heart, whether she wants him to or not. Yet the sea always exacts a price…

About the Author


Regina M. Hansen was born on Prince Edward Island and grew up there, in Montreal, and in Boston. She teaches at Boston University and is also a contributor to The Ashgate Encyclopedia of Literary and Filmic Monsters. She has written regular articles for the nationally circulated children’s magazine DIG into History, and her essays have also appeared in The Wall Street Journal Review and The Conversation. The Coming Storm is her first novel. Visit her at ReginaMHansen.com.

Praise For…


"This is a thoroughly enjoyable and suspenseful tale. . . readers will be drawn in by the haunting atmosphere. . . A captivating historical ghost story."
— Kirkus Reviews

* "There’s a wonderful mix of the mythic and the mundane on display. . . Hansen renders historical Prince Edward Island tangibly, vibrantly alive, awash in traditional musical and maritime culture." 
— BCCB, Starred Review

"Drawing upon maritime myth and Scottish folklore to weave an eerie story filled with magic and music, Hansen intertwines Beet’s narrative with historical flashbacks as the mystery unfolds. There’s a gentle subtlety to this atmospheric debut, with the ocean becoming a character of its own. . ."
— Publishers Weekly

"Ethereal and enchanting, this YA fantasy debut . . . tells an elegiac story about the complexity of sorrow. . . Hansen's lyrical prose achieves stunning worldbuilding." 
— Shelf Awareness for Readers

"The author’s descriptions . . . create a spooky atmosphere that elicits a delicious sense of creeping dread. . . Hansen moves the story back and forth in time, skillfully introducing characters. . .The Coming Storm is an intriguing, often thrilling tribute to the bonds of love and friendship. It’s also an eloquent ode to the wild beauty of [Prince Edward Island] and a testament to the power of facing what confounds us."
— Bookpage


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534482449
ISBN-10: 153448244X
Publisher: Atheneum Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: June 1st, 2021
Pages: 288
Language: English