The New Freedom (Paperback)

The New Freedom Cover Image
WE CAN ORDER THIS FOR YOU (store pickup in 5-14 days)
(This book cannot be returned.)


The New Freedom A Call for the Emancipation of the Generous Energies of a People By Woodrow Wilson The New Freedom comprises the campaign speeches and promises of Woodrow Wilson in the 1912 presidential campaign. They constituted the reforms promoted by Wilson. They called for less government, but in practice as president he added new controls such as the Federal Reserve System and the Clayton Antitrust Act. More generally the "New Freedom" is associated with Wilson's first term as president, 1913-1917. As President, Wilson focused on three types of reform: 1. Tariff Reform: This came through the passage of the Underwood Tariff Act of 1913, which lowered tariffs for the first time since the American Civil War and went against the protectionist lobby. 2. Business Reform: This was established in 1914 through the passage of the Federal Trade Act, which established the Federal Trade Commission to investigate and halt unfair and illegal business practices by issuing "cease and desist" orders, and the Clayton Anti-Trust Act. 3. Banking Reform: This came in 1913, through the creation of the Federal Reserve System, and in 1916, through the passage of the Federal Farm Loan Act, which set up Farm Loan Banks to support farmers.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781499305210
ISBN-10: 1499305214
Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
Publication Date: May 1st, 2014
Pages: 94
Language: English