Medea (Delphic Women Series) (Large Print / Paperback)

Medea (Delphic Women Series) By Kerry Greenwood Cover Image
Ask a Bookseller about this title

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Delphic Women Series series.


"This is a book I didn't want to end. I dreamed about the characters for days afterward." —TESS GERRITSEN, New York Times bestselling author of Last to Die

We know Medea killed her children.... Or do we? In Medea, Kerry Greenwood breathes fresh life into the age of heroes and rescues a woman wronged by ancient playwrights and history.

As priestess of Hekate, Princess Medea protects the sacred grove holding the Golden Fleece and bones of an old king. Jason arrives determined to acquire both and rule the land. The king sets up challenges which Jason must conquer to earn the throne. But Jason's gentian blue eyes and hair bright as gold thread obsess Medea—"here is love, here is joy"—compelling her to help him. When the king breaks his word and seeks to kill the two, they escape together.

Through Medea's royal line, Jason becomes king of Corinth, swearing always to love his wife and queen. But his allegiance is fleeting. Medea has sacrificed home, family, goddess, and innocence for the "melting, fiery loving" she feels for him. What comes next? The answer lies in this compelling story of tragedy, vengeance, exile, grief, and an oracle's response to one returning to worship the dark after having fallen in love with the light.

About the Author

Kerry Greenwood was born in the Melbourne suburb of Footscray and after wandering far and wide, she returned to live there. She has degrees in English and Law from Melbourne University and was admitted to the legal profession on the 1st April 1982, a day which she finds both soothing and significant. Kerry has written three series, a number of plays, including The Troubadours with Stephen D’Arcy, is an award-winning children’s writer and has edited and contributed to several anthologies. The Phryne Fisher series (pronounced Fry-knee, to rhyme with briny) began in 1989 with Cocaine Blues which was a great success. Kerry has written twenty books in this series with no sign yet of Miss Fisher hanging up her pearl-handled pistol. Kerry says that as long as people want to read them, she can keep writing them. In 2003 Kerry won the Lifetime Achievement Award from the Australian Association.

Product Details
ISBN: 9781464201448
ISBN-10: 1464201447
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date: June 1st, 2013
Pages: 704
Language: English
Series: Delphic Women Series