Trajectory (Hardcover)

Trajectory By Cambria Gordon Cover Image
$19.99
Here in Miami, Just Like We Are
Books & Books Coral Gables
On hand as of May 28 7:23am
(CHILDREN-YA 12+)

Description


Perfect for fans of Kristin Hannah and Sharon Cameron, this is the stirring and dramatic story of one young woman who must find a way to overcome her deepest fears in order to unlock the secret that will help America and the Allies to victory as World War II rages on.

Seventeen-year-old Eleanor is nothing like her hero Eleanor Roosevelt. She is timid and all together uncertain that she has much to offer the world. And as World War II rages overseas, Eleanor is consumed with worry for her Jewish relatives in Europe. When a chance encounter proves her to be a one-in-a-generation math whiz--a fact she has worked hard all her life to hide--Eleanor gets recruited by the US Army and entrusted with the ultimate challenge: to fine-tune a top-secret weapon that will help America defeat its enemies in World War II and secure the world’s freedom. This could be her chance to help save her family in Poland.

Soon, she’s swept from the basement of an Ivy League engineering school, to the desert of California, to an Army Air Corps base at Pearl Harbor, and finally she takes to the skies above the South Pacific.

But before she can solve this complicated problem, she must learn to unlock a bigger mystery: herself.

Critically acclaimed author of The Poetry of Secrets, Cambria Gordon weaves an extraordinary story of remarkable courage and the will to unearth our deepest secrets, based on previously undiscovered true events.

Advance praise for Trajectory:

"Cambria Gordon's careful attention to setting and detail brings an unknown and surprising history vividly to life—and draws thought-provoking parallels to the present." —Amanda McCrina, author of Traitor and The Silent Unseen

"Hidden Figures meets Code Name Verity in Trajectory, a richly detailed historical novel about Eleanor, a gifted female mathematician under pressure to get the results of her calculations right at the height of World War II. With members of her own Jewish family suffering a terrible fate in Europe, Eleanor is determined to make a difference—even if it means facing her fears head-on. I couldn’t put this down!” —Kip Wilson, award-winning author of White Rose and The Most Dazzling Girl in Berlin

“Well-paced and immersive, Trajectory takes readers on an exciting journey from Philadelphia to the California desert to the skies over the Pacific theater in the Second World War. Equally powerful is Eleanor’s journey from timid high school senior hiding her math ability to problem solver unafraid to stand up to superiors and skeptics in pursuit of the Allies’ victory. Gordon’s novel honors the long-ignored women who helped make that victory happen.” —Lyn Miller-Lachmann, author of Torch, winner of the 2023 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for YA Literature.

About the Author


Cambria Gordon is the author of The Poetry of Secrets, which Ruta Sepetys called an "epic, poetic journey," and coauthor of the award-winning The Down-to-Earth Guide to Global Warming, winner of the National Green Earth Book Award. Cambria has written for Los Angeles Times Magazine, Boys' Life, Parent Guide News, and The Jewish Journal of Los Angeles. She lives in LA with her husband and youngest son, and as close as possible to her two adult children, without annoying them.

Praise For…


Praise for Trajectory:

"Cambria Gordon's careful attention to setting and detail brings an unknown and surprising history vividly to life--and draws thought-provoking parallels to the present." — Amanda McCrina, author of Traitor and The Silent Unseen

"Hidden Figures meets Code Name Verity in Trajectory, a richly detailed historical novel about Eleanor, a gifted female mathematician under pressure to get the results of her calculations right at the height of World War II. With members of her own Jewish family suffering a terrible fate in Europe, Eleanor is determined to make a difference—even if it means facing her fears head-on. I couldn’t put this down!” — Kip Wilson, award-winning author of White Rose and The Most Dazzling Girl in Berlin

“Well-paced and immersive, Trajectory takes readers on an exciting journey from Philadelphia to the California desert to the skies over the Pacific theater in the Second World War. Equally powerful is Eleanor’s journey from timid high school senior hiding her math ability to problem solver unafraid to stand up to superiors and skeptics in pursuit of the Allies’ victory. Gordon’s novel honors the long-ignored women who helped make that victory happen.” — Lyn Miller-Lachmann, author of Torch, winner of the 2023 Los Angeles Times Book Prize for YA Literature.

Praise for The Poetry of Secrets:

"An epic, poetic journey. Brimming with romance and historical detail." -- Ruta Sepetys, New York Times bestselling author of Salt to the Sea

"Set in the Spanish town of Trujillo during the early years of the Spanish Inquisition, Gordon’s absorbing fiction debut focuses on Jewish individuals pretending to be newly converted Christians in order to avoid persecution. Supported by extensive back material, the book movingly explores this history of religious intolerance." -- Publishers Weekly

"An ambitious epic of the Spanish Inquisition seen through the eyes of a rebellious young woman whose Jewish family faces persecution and death." -- School Library Journal

"A charming Jewish love story set against the bleak backdrop of the Spanish Inquisition." -- Kirkus Reviews



Product Details
ISBN: 9781338853827
ISBN-10: 1338853821
Publisher: Scholastic Press
Publication Date: April 2nd, 2024
Pages: 304
Language: English