The Bloodstained Shade (Aven Cycle #3) (Paperback)

The Bloodstained Shade (Aven Cycle #3) By Cass Morris Cover Image
Available to SHIP now; STORE PICKUP in 7-10 days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 3 in the Aven Cycle series.


In the third book of the Aven Cycle, a trio of sisters and an ambitious senator use charm, wit, and magic to protect their city from ruin.

Latona of the Vitelliae, mage of Spirit and Fire, lies still as death. Her fate rests in the hands of her allies, who must redeem her soul from the churning void where Corinna, leader of a banished Discordian cult, has trapped it.

Protected by a cabal of corrupt priests and politicians, Corinna plans her most daring assault yet: a ritual striking at the ancient heart of Aven, with the power to swallow the city in a maw of chaos and strife. Her success would be Aven's doom, and the greatest violence would fall upon the most vulnerable.

Before Sempronius Tarren can join Aven's defense-and his beloved Latona-at home, he must end the war abroad, outwitting the blood-soaked machinations of his Iberian opponents. His own magical talents remain hidden, but dire circumstances tempt him to succumb to ambition and use forbidden tactics to hasten the way to victory.

To defeat Corinna, Aven's devoted protectors will need to perform extraordinary magic, rally support from unexpected quarters, and face the shadows on their own souls.

Praise for the Aven Cycle:

  • "A spellbinding tale of political machinations.... Fans of I, Claudius and Game of Thrones are in for a treat." -Booklist (starred review)
  • "Morris has a gift for orienting new readers and reimmersing fans into the complex world of the series. The multilayered politics-both mundane and supernatural-will keep readers hooked." -- Publishers Weekly
  • "Brilliantly imagined and plotted. Cass Morris has generated Tolkien-level tomes of information about the world of Aven to make the world come alive." -BookPage

Product Details
ISBN: 9781088078495
ISBN-10: 1088078494
Publisher: Cass Morris
Publication Date: January 31st, 2023
Pages: 546
Language: English
Series: Aven Cycle