Death of a Salesman: Certain Private Conversations in Two Acts, and a Requiem (Paperback)

Death of a Salesman: Certain Private Conversations in Two Acts, and a Requiem Cover Image
Email or call for price.


The Pulitzer Prize-winning tragedy of a salesman's deferred American dream
Ever since it was first performed in 1949, "Death of a Salesman" has been recognized as a milestone of the American theater. In the person of Willy Loman, the aging, failing salesman who makes his living riding on a smile and a shoeshine, Arthur Miller redefined the tragic hero as a man whose dreams are at once insupportably vast and dangerously insubstantial. He has given us a figure whose name has become a symbol for a kind of majestic grandiosity and a play that compresses epic extremes of humor and anguish, promise and loss, between the four walls of an American living room.
"By common consent, this is one of the finest dramas in the whole range of the American theater." Brooks Atkinson, "The New York Times"
"So simple, central, and terrible that the run of playwrights would neither care nor dare to attempt it." "Time
"For more than seventy years, Penguin has been the leading publisher of classic literature in the English-speaking world. With more than 1,700titles, Penguin Classics represents a global bookshelf of the best works throughout history and across genres and disciplines. Readers trust theseries to provide authoritative texts enhanced by introductions and notes by distinguished scholars and contemporary authors, as well as up-to-datetranslations by award-winning translators.

About the Author

Arthur Miller (1915 2005)was born in New York City and studied at the University of Michigan. His plays include"All My Sons"(1947), "Death of a Salesman"(1949), "The Crucible"(1953), "A View from the Bridge"and"A Memory of Two Mondays"(1955), "After the Fall"(1963), "Incident at Vichy"(1964), "The Price"(1968), "The Creation of the World and Other Business"(1972) and"The American Clock"(1980). He also wrote two novels, "Focus"(1945), and"The Misfits," which was filmed in 1960, and the text for"In Russia"(1969), "Chinese Encounters"(1979), and"In the Country"(1977), three books of photographs by his wife, Inge Morath. His later work included a memoir, "Timebends"(1987); the plays"The Ride Down Mt. Morgan"(1991), "The Last Yankee"(1993), "Broken Glass"(1994), and"Mr. Peter's Connections"(1999);"Echoes Down the Corridor: Collected Essays, 1944 2000"; and"On Politics and the Art of Acting"(2001). He twice won the New York Drama Critics Circle Award, and in 1949 he was awarded the Pulitzer Prize. Miller was the recipient of the National Book Foundation s 2001 Medal for Distinguished Contribution to American Letters, the Prince of Asturias Award for Letters in 2002, and the Jerusalem Prize in 2003."

Product Details
ISBN: 9780141182742
Publisher: Penguin Books, Limited (UK)
Publication Date: March 1st, 2000