Evenings and Weekends: A Novel (Hardcover)

Pre-Order Now Badge
Evenings and Weekends: A Novel By Oisín McKenna Cover Image
$30.00
PRE-ORDER NOW!

Description


“This is such a love story to cities & people & heartbreaks, death & loss. It's not at all corny, it's smart. But I just finished it & it made me cry.” — Eileen Myles 

For fans of Sally Rooney and Torrey Peters, a stunning debut that follows three young adults through a London heatwave as their simmering tensions and secrets come to a head over a feverish, life-changing weekend.

London, 2019. It’s the hottest June on record, and a whale is stuck in the Thames River. In the streets of the city, three old acquaintances' lives are about to change forever...

Maggie is 30, pregnant, and broke. Faced with a future in the home town she once fought to escape, she’s beginning to wonder if having a baby will be the last spontaneous act of her life.

Ed, a barely competent bike courier, can’t wait to settle down with Maggie. But she doesn’t know that he has a secret history with Maggie’s best friend Phil.

Phil hates his office job and is living for the weekends. He lives in an illegal warehouse commune and is falling for his housemate, Keith. There’s just one problem: Keith already has a boyfriend, and Phil doesn’t know if there’s room for one more person in the relationship.

As the temperature continues to climb, the three will have to confront their shared pasts, current desires, and limits of their future lives together.

Strikingly heartfelt, sexually charged, and disarmingly comic, Oisín McKenna’s debut is a mesmerizing dive into the soul of a city and a critical look at the hurdles facing young adults trying to build lives there.     

About the Author


Oisín McKenna was born in Dublin and lives in London. He was awarded the Next Generation Bursary from the Arts Council of Ireland to write Evenings and Weekends and it was developed with further funding from Arts Council England. Evenings and Weekends has been awarded a 2022 London Writers Award and in 2017, Oisín was named in the Irish Times as one of the best-spoken word artists in the country. He has written and performed four theatre shows, including ADMIN, an award-winning production at Dublin Fringe 2019, and has written for outlets including the Irish Times on issues such as gentrification and the alienation of Dublin’s youth.

Praise For…


“This is such a love story to cities & people & heartbreaks, death & loss. It's not at all corny, it's smart. But I just finished it & it made me cry.” — Eileen Myles 

“The characters in Evenings and Weekends are almost shockingly alive. I was fascinated by the mix of zeitgeisty humor, wisdom, and existential angst. I have never read a book that captures what London feels like to young people quite so compellingly.” — Tomasz Jedrowski, author of Swimming in the Dark

Evenings and Weekends dives into the heart of a city and its inhabitants with beauty and intellect. The result is a novel brimming with life, confronting the difficult and ugly with a fresh and charming levity. I can’t wait to read what McKenna writes next.” — Nicola Dinan, author of Bellies

"The aching, swelling humanity of this book swallowed me whole."
Saba Sams, author of Send Nudes

"This book was a thrill. Zadie Smith-esque in its kaleidoscope of London and incisively political but only in the most generous, specific, and lived-in way; That Oisín can write a book so steeped in identity politics and yet so casually chaotic and real is a testament to his imaginative generosity and sense of scale. I could go on and on and on. Compassionate, intelligent, hilarious. This book will win prizes. I enjoyed it so much."
Niamh Campbell, author of This Happy, winner of the Rooney Fiction Prize

"‘I tore through Evenings and Weekends, a story which is full of life and rings with passion and hope. A brilliant study of the sins of modern Britain and the energy of contemporary London." — Soula Emmanuel, author of Wild Geese



Product Details
ISBN: 9780063319974
ISBN-10: 0063319977
Publisher: Mariner Books
Publication Date: July 16th, 2024
Pages: 352
Language: English